Font Poem

There are a few reasons I chose this quote for my font poem. It can be applied to many different problems we run into throughout our lives. While we may be upset that something isn’t going our way there is always hope that things will turn around and get better. You can’t achieve anything without coming across a few bumps in the road and this quote urges you to continue on even when you don’t think you should quite. When choosing my quote I was also thinking about the different ways I could convey the message by playing with fonts. colors,etc. and I thought this particular quote would be fun to play with.

I chose the fonts based on the way I saw each particular words meaning. For the words “sometimes” and “so that” I didn’t feel they needed to stand out and should stay white. I also chose a simple font that was easy to read called “Organica GMM Semiserif Roman.” For the both times the word “things” I wanted it to stand out a little so I chose a the font “Copperplate Gothic” with an orange color but kept the size smaller than the other words. I did the same with the word “can” except I made it yellow and chose the font “Myriad.” For the first time the word “fall” is used I chose the font “Postino Std” and used two effects, gradient and bevel and emboss to make it stand out more. Also the gradient I chose the was a light blue like the sky because it is above the second “fall”. For the second one I chose the font “Chalkduster” because I felt it stood out well among the others and for this one I warped the text to make it look as if it was falling with a gradient overlay that looked like the ground so it was falling into the ground. The word better I wanted to really stand out because it is really what the quote is about, things getting better, so I choose the brightest color. For the font I chose “Gill Sans” with and outer glow effect to make it stand out and make it look happy. The word “apart” was more simple and I just increased the letter spacing to make it look as though the word itself was coming apart. Finally for the word “together” I just used another text warp to make it look like the word was coming together and a gradient to make it look even more like it was coming together.

When choosing the placement of the words I wanted to make sure they flowed together well and the poem could easily be read. However, I didn’t want to simply line the words up and I wanted to play around with their placement a little. By using different effects on the word “fall” both times it is used I was able to make it look as though the words themselves were falling. This helped give more meaning to the words and make the poem flow together well.

At first, I had a lot of trouble trying to pick colors for the different words. I wanted to have a color scheme so that the words looked like they went together but I didn’t want them all to be too much alike. I played around with many different color schemes such as rainbow and blues and greens before deciding of the orange and yellow. I felt the bright colors helped convey the message and really popped on the black background. Also, I was able to tie the orange and yellow colors together at the end of the poem in the word “together” by using a gradient which gave even more meaning to the word.

I am most proud of the way the first “fall” looks like the sky and the second “fall” looks like the ground as if the words were actually falling from the sky. I felt these words I conveyed best out of all of them. If I had more time I would work on the font choice of the both times “things” was said because I could have chosen a better font for them.

About Michelle Scanlon

Student at Roger Williams University studying for a major in Public Relations and a minor in Graphic Design. Active member of the Roger Williams Chapter of PRSSA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment